Home » NFL Teams » Tennessee Titans

Tennessee Titans

The Tennessee Titans are an American professional football team headquartered in Nashville, Tennessee. The Titans are a member of the American Football Conference (AFC) South division of the National Football League (NFL).

Originally known as the Houston Oilers, the team was created by Bud Adams. He ran it until his death in 2013. And starting games as a founder member of the American Football League in 1960 in Houston, Texas (AFL). The Oilers won two AFL championships and four division titles before joining the NFL in 1970 as part of the AFL–NFL merger.

With Hall of Famers Earl Campbell and Warren Moon, the Oilers had successive playoff berths from 1978 to 1980 and 1987 to 1993.

The club moved from Houston to Nashville in 1997. But played for one season at the Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium in Memphis while waiting for a new stadium to be built. In 1998, the club relocated to Vanderbilt Stadium in Nashville due to low attendance.

Tennessee Titans NFL

They were identified as the “Tennessee Oilers” for those two years, but for the 1999 season, they were renamed the “Tennessee Titans.” The club presently plays at Nissan Stadium in Nashville, which was originally known as Adelphia Coliseum and first opened in 1999. Saint Thomas Sports Park, a 31-acre (13 ha) property inside Nashville’s MetroCenter complex, serves as the Titans’ training center.

The Titans have only been in one Super Bowl (XXXIV, at the finale of the 1999 NFL season) in their existence, losing 23–16 to the St. Louis Rams. They made the playoffs in every but one season from 1999 through 2003, led by Steve McNair and Eddie George, but then only twice in the following thirteen years.

They have enjoyed five straight playoff wins since 2016. It is the most since they were the Houston Oilers, and have made three postseason berths during that time. The Titans are the only club in the NFL with two players who have rushed over 2,000 yards in a season. Chris Johnson (2009) and Derrick Henry (2020).

Be with us for more updates, Legal-SportsBetting.

History of the franchise

Oilers of Houston (1960–1996)

The Titans were launched as the Houston Oilers, one of the American Football League’s eight founder members (AFL). They joined the National Football League in 1970 as part of the merger of the American Football League and the National Football League, and have kept a part of the NFL ever since. They stayed in Houston until the season’s finish in 1996.

For the first 10 years of its existence, they were a member of the AFL’s Eastern Division, before entering the NFL’s American Football Conference. They were assigned to the American Football Conference’s Central Division, where they remained until 2002.

The era of the Tennessee Titans (1999–present)

Changes in the name

Adams said on July 29, 1998, that the Oilers’ name will be changed in response to fan demands. To match with the inauguration of their new stadium and to help communicate with Nashville. He also added that like all previous moved clubs save the Browns/Ravens, the renamed franchise will keep the Oilers’ legacy (such as team records). And that there would be a Hall of Fame recognizing the finest players from both periods.

Adams announced on November 14, 1998, that the Oilers would change their name to the Tennessee Titans in 1999. The new name satisfied all of Adams’ requirements while also paying homage to Nashville’s moniker as “The Athens of the South” (for its large number of higher-learning institutions, its full-scale replica of the Parthenon and Classical architecture). The team’s new logo and colors were unveiled on December 22, 1998.

Titans Rumor Today

The Titans will be in their 61st season in 2020, and their third under head coach Mike Vrabel. Ryan Tannehill and Derrick Henry lead the Titans to one of their finest offensive games in team history. For the first time since 2008, the Titans have begun the season 5-0. They then lost three of their next four games to fall to 6-3 heading into Week 11.

The Titans, on the other hand, continuing their recent success, winning five of their final seven games to finish 11-5. Their Week 15 victory over the Detroit Lions earned them their first double-digit winning season since 2008. As well as the first time in five seasons that they did not go 9-7. On January 3, 2021, the Titans beat the Houston Texans 41-38 in Week 17 to earn their first division title since 2008. Derrick Henry ran 35 times for 250 yards and two touchdowns in Week 17. Putting him over 2,000 yards for the year.

Henry joined Chris Johnson as one of just eight players in NFL history to run for 2,000 yards, making the Titans the only team with two 2,000-yard rushers. Henry also topped the NFL in running yards with 2,027 yards. And became the first player since LaDainian Tomlinson in 2006 and 2007 to win back-to-back gaining championships.

With 17, Henry became the first player since Marshawn Lynch in 2013 and 2014 to lead the league in running touchdowns back-to-back. A. J. Brown set a new career-high with 1,075 yards receiving, his second consecutive 1,000-yard season. The Titans hosted the Ravens at Nissan Stadium into their first home playoff game in 12 years on January 10, 2021. The Titans were defeated by the Ravens in the Wildcard Round, 20-13. With Derrick Henry running 18 times for 40 yards and Ryan Tannehill throwing a game-winning late-game turnover.


Who is the Tennessee Titans’ new owner?

The transaction gives Amy Adams Strunk, the Titans’ majority owner, a 50 percent stake in the team. And as per the Associated Press, Kenneth Adam IV, Barclay Adams, and Susan Lewis will hold the remaining 50%. The controlling owner, Adams Strunk, will remain in place.

Is the Tennessee Titans a Super Bowl champion?

The Tennessee Titans are a member of a club that no one in the NFL wants to be a part of teams who have yet to win a Super Bowl. Despite winning two AFL championships in 1960 and 1961, the Houston Oilers seem unable to win a Super Bowl after entering the NFL.

Will fans be given the opportunity to attend football games in Tennessee?

This year, fans may only enter the stadium via a mobile phone ticket. Only a few gates will be open for admission. And all attendees must use the gate shown on their mobile tickets.








Up to $1,000 Back in Bonus Bets

No requirements

See Full Review

Up to $1,200 Bonus

25x bonus amount

See Full Review

Up To $500 Risk Free Bet

No requirements

See Full Review

First bet is on Caesars for up to $1,250

25x bonus amount

See Full Review

2nd Chance Free Bet Up To $500

1x wagering

See Full Review